top of page
  • Writer's pictureShannon Aardsma

Reviewing the Old, Welcoming the New

Can you believe it's the last day of 2019? This is the end of a decade! I can barely wrap my mind around it. I was too young to appreciate the transition from the 2000s to the 2010s, but I'm very aware of the arrival of the 2020s. A friend pointed out that in the 2020s we will be the same "distance" from the 1990s as we will be from the 2050s. That is such an unbelievable thought to me! I have been so "chill" about the end of this year, but now it's finally hitting me. That's how I am about most things. I don't get excited (or anxious) about most things until the last minute when it really hits me. I also hate change, and even though nothing immediately changes with a new year (it's like a birthday; you still feel the same as you did the day before), it's still a change and a big change this year. It's the end of a decade and the start of a new one.


So as the new year fast approaches, I'm trying to reflect on the past year. I'll hit some highlights and milestones, and then develop some goals for the new year. I'm not one for making New Year's Resolutions because I know myself, and I know I'm not going to be able to keep up a daily routine, but I do like to resolve to do better at the very least. But here are the highlights.


Of course, what stands out most is the publication of my book. It's one of the last things I did this year, but it was certainly the biggest goal I tackled. I also got my first and second "real" jobs. The only other job I'd had before this year was my summer job at Camp Shoshanah for four years. I also got let go from my first job (the second "real" job I got this year), but I was so relieved when my position was filled by someone else. I wasn't right for the job, and I knew that, and I'd let my employers know that I couldn't complete the job to the extent that we had originally planned. But my other job, the first of the two "real" jobs, is still going wonderfully and I love it. :)


I don't actually have any other major highlights. Well, I do have one, but I don't think I'll add it simply because it wasn't a huge accomplishment, simply a good memory. So...I guess I'll move on to my New Year's Progress Goals.


I would like to strengthen my relationship with God, meaning I want to do better at putting Him first. I want to get into a better habit of having daily personal devotions. This is something that I struggle with simply because I struggle with being consistent in any daily habits, whether it's writing, exercising, or any other number of habits I want to develop. I may do great for a month or two, but then I slip out of the habit and abandon it for another stretch of time. So I suppose a resolution for this year would be to form better devotional, writing, and exercising habits. I would also like to strive to learn a language this year (currently I'm trying to learn some ASL and I know a few phrases). But my biggest goals have to do with God and my writing.


One specific thing I'm looking forward toward this year is getting my own apartment. I don't know if that will be this spring or later in the year or, perhaps, not at all, but it is certainly on my mind. I'll also be turning 20 this coming year... That's a scary thought.


I have a few other more-personal goals as well that I'm not going to share here.


I think I'll also hit a few highlights from the past decade since we're entering, not only a new year, but a new decade as well


> Started high school

> Dyed my hair

> Got a Summer job and made lots of new friends

> Made some tough choices concerning friends but grew as a person because of them

> Joined an amazing online writing community that has helped me grow as a writer and through which I "met" some of my very best friends

> Graduated in 2018!

> Moved out of my parents' house (not saying this was a good highlight, Mom 😉)


Well, that's more highlights than I thought I'd be able to come up with. It's a little hard to look back that far and figure out what happened when especially since I was only nine at the start of this decade. 🤪


Well, this is my final post of 2019! What were your highlights this year? What are you going to be striving toward in the coming year and decade?


I trust 2019 (and the 2010s) has been a productive year for you all, and I hope 2020 is even more productive and rewarding! Whatever that goal is that you've been moving toward, you can reach it this year! You'll surpass it this decade! I believe in you all. :)


HAPPY NEW YEAR!


*here's a fun meme on the last day that it can ever be used O_O*



s

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page